Thursday, February 16, 2017

Chris Stapleton receives three ACM Award nominations

This morning, the Academy of Country Music announced the nominees for the ACM Awards.  Interestingly, Sturgill Simpson, who was awarded a Grammy for Best Country Album was left out of any of the nominees.  However, fellow Kentuckian, reigning ACM Male Vocalist of the Year Chris Stapleton is nominated in three categories. Once again, Stapleton is nominated in both the Male Vocalist of the Year category, and the Song of the Year category with “Tennessee Whiskey.”  Also, Stapleton received a nod in the Video of the Year category for “Fire Away.”.  Below is the complete list of nominees for the 2017 ACM Awards.  Luke Bryan and Dierks Bentley will return to host for the second consecutive year. The ACM Awards® are produced for television by dick clark productions and will be broadcast LIVE from T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas on Sunday, April 2 (live 8:00-11:00 PM) on the CBS Television Network.

Male Vocalist of the Year
Jason Aldean
Dierks Bentley
Thomas Rhett
Chris Stapleton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year
Kelsea Ballerini
Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Florida Georgia Line
Carrie Underwood
Keith Urban

Vocal Duo of the Year
Big & Rich
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie & Tae

Vocal Group of the Year
Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
Old Dominion
Rascal Flatts

Songwriter of the Year
Ashley Gorley
Luke Laird
Hillary Lindsey
Shane McAnally
Lori McKenna

New Male Vocalist
Kane Brown
Chris Janson
Chris Lane
Jon Pardi
Brett Young

New Female Vocalist
Lauren Alaina
Brandy Clark
Maren Morris

New Vocal Duo or Group of the Year
A Thousand Horses
Brothers Osborne
Dan + Shay
Maddie & Tae

Album of the Year
Black - Dierks Bentley
Dig Your Roots - Florida Georgia Line
Hero - Maren Morris
Ripcord - Keith Urban
The Weight of These Wings - Miranda Lambert

Single Record of the Year
Blue Ain't Your Color - Keith Urban
H.O.L.Y. - Florida Georgia Line
Humble and Kind - Tim McGraw
My Church - Maren Morris
Vice - Miranda Lambert

Song of the Year
Blue Aint Your Color - Keith Urban
Die a Happy Man - Thomas Rhett
Humble and Kind - Tim McGraw
Kill a Word - Eric Church with Rhiannon Giddens
Tennessee Whiskey - Chris Stapleton
Vice - Miranda Lambert

Video of the Year
Fire Away - Chris Stapleton
Forever Country
Humble and Kind - Tim McGraw
Peter Pan - Kelsea Ballerini
Vice - Miranda Lambert

Vocal Event of the Year
Different for Girls - Dierks Bentley & Elle King
Forever Country
May We All - Florida Georgia Line and Tim McGraw
Setting the World on Fire - Kenny Chesney and Pink
Think of You - Chris Young and Cassadee Pope